Health and Social Care

Key Stage 4

We teach the OCR Cambridge National specification. There are three units, which are taught over two years:

  • Principles of care
  • Supporting individuals through life events
  • Creative activities

Pupils will learn a range of topics, including: the factors that can affect health; and how to improve people’s lifestyles, why people need care services (ill health, sports injury, pregnancy); what services are available to them; and the roles of professionals who work in health and care services.

Key Stage 5

We deliver the OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Award, the first 3 models delivered in lower sixth are compulsory:

  • Unit 1: Building positive relationships in health and social care
  • Unit 2: Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care
  • Unit 3: Health, safety and security in health and social care

Year Two Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

In Year 2, there is one compulsory unit, which is Anatomy and physiology for health and social care. There are two more optional units and we are flexible with which units we teach, currently we cover:

  • Unit 10: Nutrition for health
  • Unit 17: Sexual Health, Reproduction and Early Development Stages

Careers that link to this course: Social Worker, Physiotherapist, Paramedic, Occupational Therapist, Nutritionist, Nursing and Midwifery.